A few of my favourite things

 

favourite-things2

The lyrics above have been playing in my head (though I’m not feeling sad) so today, I’m sharing one each of my many favourite Bible stories, scriptures and characters.

This story in 1Samuel 5:1-4 always gives me the chills! God is Almighty; Dagon had to fall!

After the Philistines had captured the ark of God, they took it from Ebenezer to Ashdod. Then they carried the ark into Dagon’s temple and set it beside Dagon. When the people of Ashdod rose early the next day, there was Dagon, fallen on his face on the ground before the ark of the LORD! They took Dagon and put him back in his place. But the following morning when they rose, there was Dagon, fallen on his face on the ground before the ark of the LORD! His head and hands had been broken off and were lying on the threshold; only his body remained. 

Psalm 139: 1-18 assures me that God knows and loves me deeply; I’m on His mind 24/7!

O LORD, you have examined my heart and know everything about me. You know when I sit down or stand up. You know my thoughts even when I’m far away. You see me when I travel and when I rest at home. You know everything I do. You know what I am going to say even before I say it, LORD. You go before me and follow me. You place your hand of blessing on my head. Such knowledge is too wonderful for me, too great for me to understand! I can never escape from your Spirit! I can never get away from your presence! If I go up to heaven, you are there; if I go down to the grave, you are there. If I ride the wings of the morning, if I dwell by the farthest oceans, even there your hand will guide me and your strength will support me. I could ask the darkness to hide me and the light around me to become night— but even in darkness I cannot hide from you. To you the night shines as bright as day. Darkness and light are the same to you. You made all the delicate, inner parts of my body and knit me together in my mother’s womb. Thank you for making me so wonderfully complex! Your workmanship is marvelous—how well I know it. You watched me as I was being formed in utter seclusion, as I was woven together in the dark of the womb. You saw me before I was born. Every day of my life was recorded in your book. Every moment was laid out before a single day had passed. How precious are your thoughts about me, O God. They cannot be numbered! I can’t even count them; they outnumber the grains of sand! And when I wake up, you are still with me!

And finally, my favourite disciple/apostle, Peter.

The Bible usually refers to the 12 disciples as one; “the disciples” said, “the disciples” came, “they” were troubled, etc BUT Peter almost always just had to “show himself”! Read through the epistles and you will realise that besides Jesus, Peter spoke the most; the guy just didn’t know how to keep quiet.

  • On the mount of transfiguration, Peter, James and John were “greatly afraid” but whilst the others stood in awe, Peter just had to speak even though he “did not know what to say” (Mark 9: 6).
  • Peter suggested a limit on forgiveness (Mt 18:21)
  • Peter wanted to know the reward for following Jesus (Mt 19:23-27)
  • Peter initially resisted the washing of his feet (John 5-9)
  • Peter rebuked Jesus (Mt 16:22)
  • Peter took take advantage of John’s closeness to Jesus (John 13: 22-25)
  • Peter tried to rescue Jesus (John 10-11)
  • And as the whole world knows, Peter denied Jesus three times (Mt 26:69-75)
  • Even after he became a “pillar” in the early church, his actions caused a confrontation with Paul (Gal 2:11-14).

Compared to someone like Apostle Paul (who seems to me to be the perfect Christian), Peter was just a mess and that is exactly why he’s my favourite. He was by no means, the most cultured, eloquent, educated or zealous of the apostles but he loved the Lord and Peter shows me that God accepts and can use even me, with ALL my imperfections and excesses and I am so grateful for that grace.

I hope you enjoyed these favourite things of mine. What are some of your favourite things in the Bible?

2 thoughts on “A few of my favourite things

Add yours

  1. Quite interesting!
    Now what are some of my favourite things in the Bible? … For a while now, I have been thinking on how often and on what occasions / what purposes the following phrase appears in the Bible “For the Lord is good and His mercy endures forever” . The more I meditate on it, the greater God is magnified in my life and in my situations; the more I can trust in the Lord’s goodness and rest in His mercy.

    Like

    1. That is a beautiful verse of scripture Funmi and it has limitless potentials; just the thought that God is good is enough to make me feel warm all over. Psalm 119:68 says that He is good and He does ONLY good things; isnt that just fantastic?
      Thanks for sharing one of your favourite Bible verses.

      Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

