Lord, why is This Person a part of my life?

If you have ever said asked this question, then you know who “This Person” is; it’s that unavoidable man or woman who constantly frustrates your resolve to love your neighbour. The key word here being, Love.

So, there I was that day bemoaning the fact that This Person was just plain hard to love; nothing I did for This Person was good enough and This Person took pleasure in putting others down. Each time I was finally able to forgive whatever This Person had done or said, This Person would just do something new to hurt me.

Honestly, I just wanted God to see that This Person was simply unlovable and get His permission to stop trying to love them.

I am so grateful that God answers questions because I often have them; serious questions, funny questions, ridiculous questions, just name it I have asked and believe it or not, He’s always answered.

This day however, God did not answer me; instead, He said to me, I have not asked you to “like” This Person but to love him. I had to go find the difference between the two.

When we like someone, it implies that we enjoy being around the person and maybe even admire certain qualities about them. Like is an emotional response to people and circumstances.

 Love, as described in 1st Corinthians 13: 4-7 is a choice; it means having to forgive constantly (70x7times a day) and not keeping tab of wrong doings. It means putting my feelings aside and never giving up on This Person; always having look for the best in them.

The God of kind of Love is tough (though not impossible).

I really would rather love people I like but the Bible tells me that I do owe This Person a debt of love (Romans 13:8).

I have been on a journey of loving This Person as God would have me do for several months now and it has been interesting. Some days have been easier than others and my constant prayer has become “Lord help me love This Person”.

All I have really had to do is be willing to love This Person and God does most of the loving through me. Every now and then, God allows me to catch a glimpse of who This Person can be, it’s amazing the way God sees them.

I realise that like This Person, I am God’s Work-In-Progress and we all need someone to love us in spite of ourselves.

We love, because He first loved us. 20 If anyone says, “I love God,” and hates (works against) his [Christian] brother he is a liar; for the one who does not love his brother whom he has seen, cannot love God whom he has not seen. 21 And this commandment we have from Him, that the one who loves God should also [unselfishly] love his brother and seek the best for him  (1st John 4: 19-21)

 

 

8 thoughts on “Lord, why is This Person a part of my life?

Add yours

  1. Truth Bolaji but there are some people you don’t want to like or love (even as commanded by God).
    But understanding that I have both open & secret faults, gives me the courage to obey God and love the unloveable!

    Like

  2. Great Piece! We all have “This Person” in our circles…and sometimes unwittingly we may be “This Person” to other people too. May the Lord supply more and more of His grace for us to fulfil His demand to love. God bless you Bolaji and congratulations on your first post!

    Like

  3. Hi Bolaji,
    Yes there is that ‘person’ who really tries my resolve to walk in love. I know faith works by love so I cannot afford anything that could make my faith ineffectual. So what do I do, I pray for special grace to keep my love walk. I too am still a work in progress after all!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

